Amnicon Falls State Park features a series of delightful waterfalls and rapids along the Amnicon River. The park is a place to picnic, camp, walk in the woods and learn about the Douglas Fault, the geological formation that created the falls.
Among the attractions at Amnicon Falls State Park is the 55-foot long bridge that spans the river at the Lower Falls. Originally it had no covering and was a highway bridge that crossed the Amnicon River not far from the park.
The bridge, called a Horton or bowstring bridge, is historically significant due both to its age and unusual construction. In 1897 and 1898, Charles M. Horton, while working in Duluth and Superior, obtained a number of patents for bridges that he claimed made them stronger, lighter and more durable. In addition, he said his design would allow workers to quickly assemble the structure without expensive machinery, tools and labor. His method called for using arched beams secured with hooks and clips rather than rivets and bolts.
In 1930, our bridge was moved to its present location so park visitors could get to the island around which the river flows. Members of the Brule Civilian Conservation Corps added the roof in 1939.
The roof was replaced in 1941 after collapsing from heavy snows and again in 1971 when it was destroyed by a fire set by vandals. Today the covered bridge serves not only a practical necessity, but as a picturesque attraction as well.
A poster print is created using a professional laser printer on heavy, cover stock paper. The quality of the print and of the paper vary. Colors are placed on the paper with dots.
An artist's proof is matte photographic proof produced by a professional printer. Colors are continuous and have no dots.